About the Lake Land College Library: Collection Procedures

The American Library Association policy on Freedom to Read is affirmed by the Board of Trustees:

The Board of Trustees, believing that the freedom to read is essential to our democracy, hereby affirms the “Freedom to Read Statement” endorsed by the American Library Association and the American Association of Publishers. Copies of the “Freedom to Read Statement” can be obtained on the American Library Association website or from the Director of Library Services.

Adopted November 9, 1998 Revised September 15, 2003 Revised December 11, 2017 

As a small community college library, we aren't equipped to deal with donations or rare books. Please take those to your local public library for them to place in their book sales. If you have something you want to donate, please contact the Library Director to discuss the item. However, we only add recent books (published in the last 5 years) that fit with our Collection Policies.

Deselection of library materials occurs continuously as new materials are added. The CREW method is used--see CREW: A Weeding Manual for Modern Libraries from the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. Weeded print titles are saved and put into an annual sale, with benefits of the sale being spent on library materials. 

In accordance with the stated roles of the American Library Association, it is the policy of the College Library to:

1. Work closely with College faculty, staff, and Administration to remain an active partner in student success.
2. Reassess services, collections, policies, and procedures on a regular basis to ensure compliance with College policies, practices, and strategic goals.
3. Observe professional standards and keep appropriate administration and staff aware of developments in professional practice that affect operations and may impact services and budgets.

Collections and Resources

Responsibility for selecting books and other instructional materials is to be a cooperative effort between the faculty and the Library professional staff. Faculty members are expected to recommend resources in their own fields of specialization, and the Library professional staff is responsible for other collection decisions. The Library staff also is responsible for coordinating the collection and strengthening weak areas which are not being given adequate attention by the faculty. The ultimate responsibility for selection of resources resides with the Board of Trustees. However, the responsibility of all selection is delegated by the Board and the President to the Director of Library Services observing the following principles:

1. Provide resources of high quality that enrich and support the curriculum, taking into consideration the varied interests, abilities, and maturity levels of the student body and the needs of the faculty.
2. Provide access to resources that support and enhance the educational goals and objectives of the College.
3. Select resources that stimulate growth in factual knowledge, literary appreciation, aesthetic value, and ethical standards.
4. Insure that the needs of all segments of the College community are being met by establishing a cooperative approach to selection.
5. Place principle above personal opinion and reason above prejudice to assure a representative collection of high quality resources.

Aside from the matter of the availability of funds, the following criteria for selection are to be followed:

1. Relevance to the purpose of the College.
2. Adequacy of the center’s holdings in the field.
3. Authority and effectiveness of presentation.
4. Balanced presentation of controversial issues.
5. Exclusion of textbooks adopted by the College.
6. Non-duplication of materials, except in high use areas.

Approved November 9, 1998 Revised September 15, 2003 Revised December 11, 2017

The American Library Association affirms that all libraries are forums for information and ideas and that the following basic policies should guide their services. The Board of Trustees endorses these policies.

1. Books and other library resources should be provided for the interest, information, and enlightenment of all people of the community the library serves. Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, background, or views of those contributing to their creation.
2. Libraries should provide materials and information presenting all points of view on current and historical issues. Materials should not be proscribed or removed because of partisan or doctrinal disapproval.
3. Libraries should challenge censorship in the fulfillment of their responsibility to provide information and enlightenment.
4. Libraries should cooperate with all persons and groups concerned with resisting abridgement of free expression and free access to ideas.
5. A person’s right to use a library should not be denied or abridged because of origin, background, or views.
6. Libraries which make exhibit spaces and meeting rooms available to the public they serve should make such facilities available on an equitable basis, regardless of the beliefs or affiliations of individuals or groups requesting their use.

 Adopted November 9, 1998