To search for articles on your topic, use Summon or a library database. But what do you do if you have a citation for a specific article and you want to know if Lake Land Library has a copy of it somewhere? You can use our Journals A to Z page. Use this page to find out which periodicals (newspapers, magazines, journals) the library gets in all of our various databases or in print.
Let's say you find the citation for an article you really want to read. Maybe you found a reference to it on the web or in a database or someone told you about it.
To take an example, the article you want is titled "Turning the Page on Reading" by Marge Scherer from the March 2012 issue of a journal called Educational Leadership.
From our library homepage, click on the link to Journals A to Z. Click on Journals Only, and then type the name of the journal (not the article or the author) into the box.
Here is will tell you in which databases (if any) we get that journal. Pay attention to the dates of coverage. In this case, we need something from 2012.
Notice we get this journal in five different databases, but in only the first two do they go up to present day. I'll click on the first one, Academic Search Complete, which takes me to the database, with a list of the journal's volumes.
|
|
I select 2012, and then Mar2012, the issue with my article in it... |
And here is my article, available in HTML or PDF Full Text.
If you find an article in a database, but the full text is not available, look for the Link to Full Text button.
This will look in all of our other databases to see if we get that article anywhere else...
If the article is not available in our library, you can request it through Interlibrary loan at the Circulation Desk.
