Nursing at Lake Land College
This guide supports the information needs of students and faculty in the Nursing program.
Databases and Articles at Lake Land College
The Lake Land College Library maintains a collection of databases that are suited to the research needs of our students. Below you will find academic sources that contain information relevant to the nursing program.
These databases are only available through institutional subscription and the contents cannot be found elsewhere in the internet.
Find Articles in Subject Databases
CINAHL Complete
Most comprehensive nursing and allied health database. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
ProQuest
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource. It includes many features including information packaged specifically for sharing with patients.
Open Access Resources
Open access resources are those that are available to anyone with an internet connection. Academic libraries spend a lot of time evaluating these resources so users can be sure they are accessing quality information from trusted sources.
The PubMed (from the National Library of Medicine) database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature including dental information.
Center for Disease Control (CDC)
CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
CDC increases the health security of our nation. As the nation's health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats and responds when these arise.
Health Resources and Services Administration
HRSA programs provide equitable health care to people who are geographically isolated and economically or medically vulnerable. This includes programs that deliver health services to people with HIV, pregnant people, mothers and their families, those with low incomes, residents of rural areas, American Indians and Alaska Natives, and those otherwise unable to access high-quality health care.
Information on risks for dental professionals from the U.S. Dept. of Labor's Occupational Safety & Health Administration.
Founded in 1970 as the Institute of Medicine (IOM), the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) is a Congressionally chartered, private, nonprofit institution that works outside of government to provide objective advice on matters of science, technology, and health.
Open Educational Resources
Open Educational Resources are materials that have been created by teachers and professors that are free and open for any and all to use. These materials can also be used an repurposed by others. The idea is to make information as widely and openly available as possible with no barriers to access.
Here you will find a collection of texts selected by nursing faculty to help supplement your course materials.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
