Skip to main content
Lake Land College Library
Search this Guide
Recommended Websites: Home
November - Veterans/Military Discussion
EWG Farm Subsidy Database
USDA Economic Research Service
Data about agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development
Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Information about agriculture, food, hunger, and more worldwide.
Art and Music
Art Institute of Chicago
Monet, Cassatt, Hopper and so many more!
More than 40,000 images from the Art Institute digital archives
Boston Public Library's 78rpm Record Collection
more than 50,000 records
Illinois Corporation/LLC Search
This website offers a wealth of information about international business.
State of Working America
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
The College Navigator
Search for colleges by location, programs, institution type (public, private, 2-year, 4-year), size, cost, setting, and more.
Digest of Education Statistics
Central Intelligence Agency
CIA World Fact Book
Data USA puts public US Government data in your hands.
Disaster Lit Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health
Economic Report of the President
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Free U.S. Government Information--official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government
IRS - Federal Taxes
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Office of the United States Trade Representative
trade agreements, trade topics, key import and export data
Presidential Libraries & Museums
Virtual tour of the 13 presidential libraries and museums.
Project Vote Smart
Nonpartisan, nonprofit free website that gathers information about people running for office.
The 2020 Census
Veterans Reading List
Books and media about veterans, war, PTSD, trauma, combat, etc.
African American Reading List
Books and Media about African-Americans in history and today.
Native American Reading List
Books and Media about Native Americans--past and present.
Hispanic American Reading List
Books and Media about Hispanic Americans--past and present.
Books and Media about women's rights and gender issues--past and present.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender & Questioning Reading List
Books and media about LGBTQ--past and present.
Sarah Hill's Diversity Reading List
Reading list presented to faculty and staff during a Professional Development Day at Lake Land College.
Recommended Video Websites
Nobel Prize YouTube Channel
Rick Steves Travel Europe series
Stanford University YouTube Channel
UCLA You Tube Courses Channel
American Indian Film Gallery
American Memory - Library of Congress
Burke Museum of Natural History & Culture YouTube
Crash Course World History
Penn Museum of Archaeology & Anthropology
Pew Internet & American Life Project
The Archaeology Channel
The Urban Institute
Information about social and economic policy issues--Education, Cities, Crime, Employment, Poverty, Health, Taxes, etc.
UNESCO World Heritage Center List
The ultimate travel list--all the World Heritage sites to visit--both cultural and natural! Maps, descriptions, details included.
World Digital Library
The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures from around the world on one site, in a variety of ways.
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
Merck Manuals - Consumer Edition
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.
Merck Manuals - Professional Edition
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.
Provides US national and state health stats in Public Health, Health Care Costs, Healthier Lifestyles, etc.
Saddleback College Nursing Videos
This web site was created for easy access to nursing procedures.
Driver Education - Illinois Sec of State
Illinois Compiled Statues
Illinois Legal Aid
Illinois Newspaper Project
Illinois Regional Archives
Illinois Dept of Revenue
AdViews - Digital Archive of TV Commercials
Archive of American Television
Associated Press YouTube
one of the oldest, largest newsreel and video archives--more than 90,000 historical clips and 3,500 hours of programming that covers the years from 1896 to the 1970s
British Library Images
over a million copyright-free images
Reading & Writing
What Should I Read Next?
Inkie.org is a suite of resources - available to everyone in Illinois at no charge - that support local authors with online creation and publishing tools and allow readers to access locally-produced content.
Advanced Technological Education Program
Encyclopedia of Life
Global access to knowledge about life on Earth
Environmental Conservation Online System Species Search
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
Renewable Energy World
Science in 3D
Stem cells, breast cancer, DNA, and more.
The Cell: an Image Library
The Nobel Prize YouTube Channel
The Periodic Table of Videos
American Welding Online
Over 2,500 terms defined in the field of Geographic Information Systems
Sanborn Maps at the Library of Congress
25,000+ Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps.
November - Veterans/Military Discussion >>
Nov 7, 2019 12:56 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.