See the library website for the current hours.
Circulation Desk
(217) 234-5367
libcirc@lakelandcollege.edu
Reference Desk
(217) 234-5533
libref@lakelandcollege.edu
Library Director
(217) 234-5440
shill@lakelandcollege.edu
Print Books
Lake Land College Library has more than 17,000 books, most of them in the Stacks. Books are arranged by subject under the Library of Congress (LC) call number system. Other collections include New Fiction, New Non-Fiction, Fiction, Juvenile, and Reference. You can search for books by using SHARE, our online catalog.
eBooks
The Library has over 100,000 ebooks, all of which are accessible through mobile apps or computers. The majority are in EBSCO Ebooks, a collection of over 60,000 ebooks, mostly nonfiction. See the Databases page link on the library website for more information.
Audio-Visual Materials
On our AV shelves you will find some DVDs, although the collection is shrinking as streaming gains popularity.
Periodicals
Our library subscribes to only two newspapers--the JG-TC and Effingham Daily News. Both are located next to the Juvenile sections. However, users have access to the full-text of articles from thousands of periodical titles through our online databases. You can also search for periodical titles on our webpage using the Publication Finder link. We also pay for two newspaper apps--the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Reference
Our reference collection fits on one shelf and includes old Lake Land College newspapers and a few books. We recommend you access Gale Ebooks, accessible through our Databases webpage, along with other databases.
Catalogs
To find books and audio-visual items at Lake Land, use SHARE. SHARE is the online catalog used by Lake Land and at least 400 other libraries in the Illinois Heartland Library System. Through SHARE, you can look for books and AV items, check on your library account, and request items from other libraries in the system.
Access thousands of other academic and public libraries throughout Illinois and the world through WorldCat. Materials found in this catalog can be requested using the request link in WorldCat. See the Circulation Desk with questions about Interlibrary Loan.
Online Databases
Our library subscribes to more than 60 online databases that contain the full text of articles from thousands of print sources such as magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books. These are available on our Databases webpage. These databases can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to login with your Hub ID and Password.
Loan Periods
| Books, CDs, recorded Books | 3 weeks |
| Videos & DVDs | 7 days |
| Periodicals- current issue | do not circulate |
| Reference books | do not circulate |
| Reserve materials | designated by instructor |
Library Cards
Students, faculty, staff, and Lake Land College District residents can get a library card for free at the Circulation Desk. Students and staff use their Laker ID as their library card, but with the letter L in front of the number. Community members will receive a card at the circulation desk. The card is good for two years and may be renewed, so don’t discard it if you plan to use the library again.
Renewals
You may renew library materials in person, by phone (234-5367), or online. For online renewals, go to SHARE, our online catalog, and click on the My Account button. You will need to log in using your barcode number (L in front of your Laker ID #) and your Password (usually the last four digits of your phone #.)
Interlibrary Loan
If you have a library card, you can request items from other libraries in the SHARE catalog. Our Interlibrary Loan service can also get materials not available through SHARE. Contact the Circulation Desk for help.