This is the "PSY 278" page of the "PSY 278: Family Relations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PSY 278: Family Relations  

Library resources for Psychology students
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2013 URL: http://lakeland.libguides.com/psy278 Print Guide RSS Updates

PSY 278 Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases for Psychology

  • PsycARTICLES
    Contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other organizations. Includes journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines, including many social sciences
  • EBSCOHost
    General article database covering a wide range of fields, including Psychology and Sociology.
 

Tools for Finding Information

In the library, there are two main tools we use to find information. 

Library Catalogs are what we use to find books, videos, CDs, and any other physical item that sits on our shelves. They don't provide the actual information itself, but just point to something that the library physically owns.  Lake Land College Library uses a catalog called SHARE.  This catalog is used by the entire Illinois Heartland Library System, and includes more than 400 libraries in Illinois. 

Library Databases make up the library's online resources. On a web page, they give you the full-text of articles from published magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books.    

 

Magazines vs. Journals

Magazines are considered popular works, whereas journals are considered scholarly. But what does that mean?

Popular works are generally aimed at a wide audience. The publisher wants to make a profit by selling copies of their publication. Popular works are easy to read and include many advertisements. The articles are usually written by professional writers or journalists, who may or may not have expertise on the subject they are writing about. Usually the sources consulted are not documented (no bibliography at the end of the article.)

Examples of popular works are magazines such as Good Housekeeping, Newsweek, and Rolling Stone. Newspapers are also considered popular works.

Scholarly journals, on the other hand, are written for an audience of scholars and experts in the field. They are usually published by a university or professional organization. Articles may be quite lengthy and provide original information or new research findings. They are written by scholars and researchers in the field. Most articles have an extensive bibliography of sources consulted.

The articles in scholarly journals are peer reviewed (also known as "refereed.") This means a panel of experts will read an article before it is published. They make sure that study follows protocols in the field, and that the argument is sound.

Examples of scholarly journals are Agronomy Journal, Journal of Gerontology, and Volta Review.

Another category is professional, trade, and industry journals. These are written for people in specific careers. They may use a lot of jargon related to the field and if there are advertisements they are related to the profession or industry.

Examples of professional, trade and industry journals are American Libraries, AG Week, Beef, and RN.

Information Services Librarian

Profile Image
Sarah Hill
Logo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Reference Desk: 217.237.5440
Email: shill@lakelandcollege.edu
Send Email
Book Blog:
http://tigersread.blogspot.com/
Favorite Authors:
John Green, Elizabeth Wein, David Finkle, David Sedaris
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip