This is the "Guide to Library Resources" page of the "Guide to Library Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Library Resources  

A quick look at what the library has to offer
Last Updated: Dec 13, 2016 URL: http://lakeland.libguides.com/guide Print Guide RSS Updates

Guide to Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Hours

See the library website for the current hours. 

 

Contacts

Circulation Desk
(217) 234-5367
libcirc@lakeland.cc.il.us

Reference Desk (Sarah Hill)
(217) 234-5440
libref@lakeland.cc.il.us

Library Director (Scott Drone-Silvers)
(217) 234-5338
sdronesi@lakeland.cc.il.us

 

Print Collection

Print Books

Lake Land College Library has more than 25,000 books, most of them in the Stacks. Books are arranged by subject under the Library of Congress (LC) call number system. Other collections include New Arrivals, Bestsellers, Reference, and the After Class Collection. You can search for books by using SHARE, our online catalog.

eBooks
The Library has over 60,000 ebooks, all of which are accessible through mobile apps or computers. The majority are in eBrary, a collection of over 33,000 ebooks, mostly nonfiction.  See the Databases page link on the library website for more information.

Audio-Visual Materials

On our AV shelves you will find popular, newly-released, and educational videos, DVDs, recorded books, and CDs. You can search for AV items at Lake Land and other libraries in the SHARE catalog.

Periodicals

Our library subscribes to over 80 magazines and scholarly journals. We also subscribe to six local, regional, and national newspapers. In addition, users of our library have access to the full-text of articles from 25,000 periodical titles through our online databases. You can also search for periodical titles on our Periodical Holdings webpage.

Reference Sources

Our reference collection includes atlases, encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks and directories. You can use them to get quick facts, statistics, or a general overview of a topic. We also subscribe to several online reference sources, like GVRL, accessible through our Databases webpage.

 

Online Collection & Finding Tools

Catalogs

To find books and audio-visual items at Lake Land, use SHARE. SHARE is the online catalog used by Lake Land and at least 400 other libraries in the Illinois Heartland Library System. Through SHARE, you can look for books and AV items, check on your library account, and request items from other libraries in the system.

Access thousands of other academic and public libraries throughout Illinois and the world through WorldCat. Materials found in this catalog can be requested using the request link in WorldCat.  See the Circulation Desk with questions about Interlibrary Loan.

Online Databases

Our library subscribes to more than 60 online databases that contain the full text of articles from thousands of print sources such as magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books. These are available on our Databases webpage. These databases can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to login with your Hub ID and Password.

 

Circulation

Loan Periods

Books, CDs, recorded Books 3 weeks
Videos & DVDs 7 days (no renewals)
Red Case Videos 3 days (no renewals)
Periodicals- current issue do not circulate
Periodicals - back issues 3 days
Reference books do not circulate
Reserve materials designated by instructor

 

Library Cards

Students, faculty, staff, and Lake Land College District residents can get a library card for free at the Circulation Desk. Students must present their student ID, and we will put your library barcode on the back of it. The card is good for two years and may be renewed, so don’t discard it if you plan to use the library again.

Renewals

You may renew library materials in person, by phone (234-5367), or online. For online renewals, go to SHARE, our online catalog, and click on the My Account button. You will need to log in using your barcode number (on the back of your library card or student ID) and your Password (usually the last four digits of your phone #.)

Interlibrary Loan

If you have a library card, you can request items from other libraries in the SHARE catalog by clicking on the Request It button. Our Interlibrary Loan service can also get materials not available through SHARE. Contact the Circulation Desk for help with this.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip